News Flash

1 - Citywide News Releases

Posted on: May 8, 2023

Unofficial election results for McKinney bond and City Council election

Bond package focused on the development of the McKinney National Airport fails 

McKINNEY, Texas (May 6, 2023) – Today, McKinney residents cast their ballots in the general election to vote for a general obligation bond proposition for the development of the McKinney National Airport and to elect three Council seats.

General Obligation Bond Election

According to the unofficial election results from the Collin County Election Administrator, McKinney voters did not approve the general obligation bond proposition. Provisional ballots will be counted and the final results will be certified next week. 

Proposition: “The issuance of $200,000,000 general obligation bonds for the city’s airport facilities and the imposition of a tax sufficient to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds.”

City Council Election

The District 2, District 4 and one At Large seat were contested by six total candidates. The voters chose District 2 and 4 representatives in their respective districts and all McKinney voters cast votes for the representative for the At Large position. 

To be elected to City Council, a candidate must receive a majority of votes in the general election, or more than 50 percent of the total vote. All results are unofficial and courtesy of the Collin County Election Administrator. 

District 2: Patrick Cloutier elected 
According to the unofficial results, Patrick Cloutier won the District 2 seat against Michael Silva. 

District 4: Rick Franklin elected
According to the unofficial results, Rick Franklin won the District 4 seat. He was an uncontested incumbent in the race.

At Large: Michael Jones elected
According to the unofficial results, Michael Jones won the At Large City Council seat against Tom Meredith and Taiwo Ajunwon.

The Early Voting Ballot Board will process Election Day provisional ballots and late ballots from overseas on Monday, May 15. The City of McKinney will certify the Official Election Results on Tuesday, May 16. For more information on the accumulated total votes, visit the Collin County Election Results page

Facebook Twitter Email